newbooks Book of the Year





Voting has now closed. The shortlist is listed below:


Life After Life                                    Kate Atkinson


Pride & Prejudice                              Jane Austen


Gone Girl                                         Gillian Flynn


And The Mountains Echoed                Khaled Hosseini


The Hundred Year Old Man                Jonas Jonasson


The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry    Rachel Joyce


Flight Behaviour                                Barbara Kingsolver


Bring Up the Bodies                            Hilary Mantel


The Spinning Heart                             Donal Ryan


The Light Between Oceans                  M L Steadman



Voting closed on 15 November and the winner will be revealed in newbooks 79.

The previous winners of newbooks Book of the Year have been:

2012 The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry - Rachel Joyce
2011 Room - Emma Donoghue
2010 The Help - Kathryn Stockett
2009 The Return - Victoria Hislop
2008 A Thousand Splendid Suns - Khaled Hosseini
2007 Suite Française - Irène Némirovsky

2006 The Kite Runner - Khaled Hosseini

2005 My Sister's Keeper - Jodi Picoult

2004 The Sixth Lamentation - William Brodrick

2003 Altered Land - Jules Hardy

2002 The Seige - Helen Dunmore